Site menu:

Event Calendar

December  2017
  1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30

Site search

Recent Comments

News Categories




Here are the certified 2009 Town of Peru election results

By John T. Ryan 

The Clinton County Board of Elections has certified the 2009 election results. Fifty-five percent (2,293) of Peru’s registered voters (4,128 as of September 2009) turned out at the polls, an extremely high turnout for an off-year election. A normal voter turnout would be in the forty to forty-five percent range. Here are the final figures including the Special Congressional Election results for the Town of Peru.  

Town Supervisor: Peter Glushko received 1019 votes on the Republican line and 388 on the Conservative line for a total of 1407. Tom Powers received 363 Partners for Peru votes. Bob Cronin 5, Donald Covel 1.

Town Clerk/Tax Collector: Kathleen Flynn received 978 on the Republican line and 209 on the Conservative line for a total of 1187 votes. Lana Knight had 816 on the Democratic line and 140 on the Time for a Change ticket for a total on 956.

Town Justice: John Lawliss garnered 1057 on the Republican ticket and 289 Conservative votes for a total of 1346 votes.  James Kirby garnered 792 Democratic votes, 145 Independence votes, 161 Conservative votes and 64 Working Families votes for a total of 1162. James Reid received 774 Republican votes. Daniel Alley received 1 write-in vote. 

Town Council four years: James Douglass received 978 Democratic votes and 92 Time for a Change votes for a total of 1070.  Susan Polhemus garnered 706 Republican votes and 165 Conservative votes for a total of 871.  Donald McBrayer received 683 Republican and 149 Conservative votes for a total of 832. Anthony Andrews 631 Democratic Votes and 79 Independence for a total of 710. Frederick Hoffman received 262 Partners For Peru votes and Garrett Mastic received 220 Partners For Peru votes. Robert Duquette received 1 vote. 

Town Council two years: Kregg Bruno garnered 739 Democratic votes and 141 Independence votes for a total of 880. Geoffrey Spear received 835 Republican votes. Lynn Patno garnered 228 Partners for Peru votes and Donald Covel had 1 write-in vote. 

Highway Superintendent: Michael Farrell had 969 Republican votes and 237 Conservative for a total of 1206. James Reed had 704 Democrtatic votes and 134 Independence votes for a total of 838.

In the Congressional race Democrat William Owens received 990 Democratic votes and 69 Working Families votes for a total of 1059. Conservative Douglas Hoffman received 915 Conservative votes. Dedi Scozzafava received 97 Republican votes. Robert Johnson, received 1 write-in vote. 

Peru voters favored the proposition to stagger the terms of office for County legislators by a vote of 1084 to 332. 

In the vote for County Treasurer Republican Joseph Giroux received 1187 votes to Democrat Martin Mannix’s 784 votes.

WP Like Button Plugin by Free WordPress Templates